Cick here to go home  
About Midwest Classic Cars
Search For Classics
Sell Your Classic
Dealers
Resources
Tips
Midwest Classic Cars - Car Clubs
Events
Contact Midwest Classic Cars

ID:

Pass:

Don't have a login? Click Here

Dealers Click Here

Already have a
newspaper code?
Click Here!

 

 

 

REGISTRATION

Illinois Secretary of State - http://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/vehicles/title_registration/home.html

How to Apply for Title and Registration for a Custom Vehicle and Street Rod

Public Act 92-668 added the following definitions of custom vehicle and street rod to the Motor Vehicle Code:

Sec. 1-113.1. Custom vehicle. A motor vehicle that is at least 25 years of age and of a model year after 1948 or a vehicle that has been certified by an inspector of the National Street Rod Association, on a form prescribed by the Secretary of State, to be a custom vehicle manufactured to resemble a vehicle at least 25 years of age and of a model year after 1948 and has been altered from the manufacturer's original design or has a body constructed from non-original materials and which is maintained for occasional transportation, exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, and similar uses and which is not used for general daily transportation. (625 ILCS 5/1-113.1.)

Sec. 1-202.1. Street rod. A motor vehicle that is a 1948 or older vehicle or a vehicle that has been certified by an inspector of the National Street Rod Association, on a form prescribed by the Secretary of State, to be a street rod that was manufactured after 1948 to resemble a vehicle that was manufactured before 1949 and has been altered from the manufacturer's original design or has a body constructed from non-original materials and which is maintained for occasional transportation, exhibitions, club activities, parades, tours, and similar uses and which is not used for general daily transportation. (625 ILCS 5/1-202.1.) - More -


Missouri Division of Motor Vehicle and Driver Licensing - www.dor.mo.gov/mvdl

Missouri Resident Titling Requirements

1. To title a motor vehicle in the state of Missouri, the owner must submit the following:

2. An Application for Missouri Title and License, form DOR-108. The application must list a Missouri address and be signed by the applicant. (Carefully read the instructions on the reverse side of the application to ensure proper completion.)

3. An ownership document. The assignment is not required to be notarized on unless an out-of-state title is submitted from a state that requires a notary seal and the seller is not a Missouri dealer. NOTE: If one of the ownership documents listed above is not available, please contact an office of the Missouri Department of Revenue for additional information and assistance.

a. NEW UNIT - Properly assigned Manufacturer's Statement of Origin;

b. USED UNIT - Properly assigned certificate of title. If the certificate of title shows a lienholder, a notarized lien release must be submitted.

4. An Odometer Disclosure Statement, form DOR-3019, if applicable.

5. A Vehicle Identification Number/Odometer Reading is required on all motor vehicles transferred on an out-of-state title.

6. An $8.50 title fee. If expeditious handling is requested, an additional $5.00 ($13.50 total) must be submitted. Transactions that include an expeditious fee may be processed at all Missouri Department of Revenue License offices or mailed directly to the DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES BUREAU, P O BOX 3310, JEFFERSON CITY, MO 65105-3310. Applications mailed to other box numbers will receive routine handling.

7. A $2.50 processing fee.

8. State sales/use tax figured at the rate of 4.225 percent based upon the purchase price.

9. Local tax is based on the address of the purchaser. To determine your correct local tax rate, contact a local license office or call (573) 751-4509. You can also use our handy online sales tax calculator to estimate your taxes and fees.

Title penalty, if applicable. Application for certificate of title must be made within 30 days from the date of purchase to avoid a title penalty. Title penalty is assessed in the amount of $25 for each 30 day period of delinquency, not to exceed a total of $100. Effective November 1, 2003, the maximum title penalty will increase to $200.00.

If there is a lien on your vehicle, the lienholder (lender) may be responsible for submitting the title fee and ownership document. If a lienholder is shown on your application, the Missouri title will be mailed to the lienholder. Effective July 1, 2003, all titles will be mailed to the owner.
- More -